Yoga bag

I’ve had a yoga mat for a while but just recently decided to start taking it with me to classes.  I have this fear of using the yoga mat there because I think everyone else’s germs are getting in my hair, clothes, and just about everywhere. I know for a fact that I’m not the only person to feel this way.  The only problem with taking my yoga mat is that it wasn’t in a bag and gets thrown on the floor when I get in there.  So of course when the instructor says grab your yoga mat, it looks like a free-for-all and anyone can grab it.  My solution was to make straps that allows me to carry my mat, which also adds a personal touch so people know it belongs to an individual.  I did an Internet search for DIY straps and didn’t come up with any that I thought would look good enough so I decided to make a bag instead.   It is very simple.  There are three pockets that go around the front, a strap, and a lining. I used a thin corduroy. The lining is some kind of curtain fabric. 

The hardest part was top stitching around the top because the strap made it super thick. I wound up breaking one needle and the thread about four times. 

I’m really happy with the end result.  However, I just realized that I’m going to be walking in with two bags as opposed to one.  Maybe I’ll have to create a pattern that allows me to hold my yoga mat, water, and keys without looking like a bag lady. My gears are turning! 

Leave a Reply

