A New Beginning!

Can we all just take a moment to reflect on the wonderful things that happen in our lives? At this moment the wonderful thing is my serger upper knife. A few days after getting the serger two years ago, I broke the knife and never got it replaced until I realize it’s a lot easier to work with commercial patterns with it then without. So after doing a little research and finding one that didn’t cost an arm and a leg, I decided my first project was going to be a new T-shirt dress. I decided on making this a couple weeks ago but I refused to touch anymore jersey knit using a commercial pattern without the knife. I had all of these patterns that were just sitting and waiting. Take a look at the first project with the new knife.

2015/01/img_1867.jpg
It doesn’t look incredibly fitted but keep in mind I have more hips than the dress-form does. The fabric was the best. It is actually eggplant, some other kind of purple, and tan stripes with sparkly silver thread going through it I don’t know how well the camera picked that up. I believe it was called Sparkly Hatchi. And of course I ordered it from fabric.com so when I got it out the box I was completely shocked with what I was able to get for the price.

Now onto the rest of my fabric stash!

Leave a Reply

