My Semi-Green Thumb

Every now and then I get the idea to plant some seeds and see what will happen. Recently I made a birthday cake for my nephew that was lemon flavored. I used a lot of lemons in the process. The end result, a lot of seeds. I removed the outer shell, put them in a cup with a wet paper towel, and covered it with plastic wrap. I later ended up with three seedlings. In hindsight, maybe I should’ve done a lot more seeds so I can have a lot more plants. I think I tried 4 but only ended up with three seedlings. My goal is to grow a lemon bonsai tree.

20140725-190229-68549808.jpg

20140725-190230-68550126.jpg
As you can see the third one needed a little bit more help. It wasn’t as developed as the other two so I put another cup over it and put a rubber band over both to hold it tight. I guess it’s my attempt at incubation.

Around the same time as planting the lemon seeds, I made a mango lassi, which is it Asian drink. The main components are mango, yogurt, and cardamom, which came out great. Now in the past I tried to plant a mango seed but it sat and sat and never sprouted which is common but I can’t give up. There’s something in me that said try it again so here we are a year later and successful.

20140725-190828-68908463.jpg
The craziest part is that I enjoy planting seeds that I know will never give me any fruit and will probably die. I live in Georgia and not the part closest to Florida so lemon, mango, and basically any kind of plant that’s not cold tolerant will die. I considered trying some of that special lighting that’s for plants to keep them warm but I imagine my electric bill will be sky high in the winter because I refuse to use the central heating (money, money, money) so we use space heaters only in the room that we are occupying. Heaters plus lighting would make the bill even more ridiculous.
I found some cement planters on Sugar and Charm that I really want to make. I’m going to see if I can find not only bowls but maybe some square or rectangular pans that come in different sizes so I can get different shaped pots.

Leave a Reply

